Tribe on wrong end on a couple of calls

Tribe on wrong end on a couple of calls

NEW YORK -- In manager Manny Acta's tabulation, first-base umpire CB Bucknor was 2-for-4 in close calls at first base on Friday night at Yankee Stadium.

It just so happened that Bucknor's two missed calls both hurt the Tribe. The first was when Robinson Cano was erroneously ruled safe on an infield single in the second. Replays showed shortstop Jason Donald's throw beat Cano to the bag by a step. Cano wound up scoring on a Nick Swisher home run.

In the seventh, with one on, two out and the Indians trailing, 4-2, Donald was called out on a grounder to first, when Mark Teixeira flipped the ball to Phil Hughes. This time, replays showed that Donald's foot hit the bag before the ball hit Hughes' glove. Instead, it was the final out of the inning.

Acta didn't come out to argue either call.

"He is who he is," Acta said of Bucknor. "You've just got to live with it. Sometimes it goes on your side, sometimes it goes against you. He was 2-for-4 against us. You can't fight City Hall."