{}
CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Tribe on wrong end on a couple of calls

Tribe on wrong end on a couple of calls

|
NEW YORK -- In manager Manny Acta's tabulation, first-base umpire CB Bucknor was 2-for-4 in close calls at first base on Friday night at Yankee Stadium.

It just so happened that Bucknor's two missed calls both hurt the Tribe. The first was when Robinson Cano was erroneously ruled safe on an infield single in the second. Replays showed shortstop Jason Donald's throw beat Cano to the bag by a step. Cano wound up scoring on a Nick Swisher home run.

In the seventh, with one on, two out and the Indians trailing, 4-2, Donald was called out on a grounder to first, when Mark Teixeira flipped the ball to Phil Hughes. This time, replays showed that Donald's foot hit the bag before the ball hit Hughes' glove. Instead, it was the final out of the inning.

Acta didn't come out to argue either call.

"He is who he is," Acta said of Bucknor. "You've just got to live with it. Sometimes it goes on your side, sometimes it goes against you. He was 2-for-4 against us. You can't fight City Hall."

{}
{}
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español