Tribe's Opening Day lineup on All-Star ballot

Tribe's Opening Day lineup on All-Star ballot

Tribe's Opening Day lineup on All-Star ballot
SEATTLE -- There are no surprises on the All-Star ballot this year when it comes to the Indians. When Tribe fans pore over the list of candidates, determining which players deserve a trip to the Midsummer Classic, they will see Cleveland's Opening Day lineup on display.

Online voting is set to open on Friday, but the ballot for the 83rd All-Star Game was unveiled during a press conference in Kansas City on Thursday. The Royals' home stadium will play host to this year's festivities, which will culminate with the annual game on July 10 at Kauffman Stadium.

Indians manager Manny Acta has enjoyed seeing the voting process evolve to the point where the fans, players and All-Star managers have a say over which players make the American League and National League teams.

"I think it balances out pretty good," Acta said. "I think the ultimate prize, or goal, for every one of these guys is to be recognized by their peers. So when you're selected by the players it means a lot. It's great that we get the fans involved -- that's a big part of the game -- but we all know that a lot of times it just turns out to be a popularity contest. It's good that we have a balance."

From the Indians, this year's All-Star ballot includes first baseman Casey Kotchman, second baseman Jason Kipnis, shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera, third baseman Jack Hannahan, catcher Carlos Santana, designated hitter Travis Hafner, left fielder Shelley Duncan, center fielder Michael Brantley and right fielder Shin-Soo Choo.

Last season, Cleveland was represented by Cabrera, who started at shortstop for the American League, and closer Chris Perez. The ballot last summer listed Jason Donald instead of Hannahan at third base, even though Hannahan was the Tribe's starter at the position to open the season. Donald was sidelined on Opening Day a year ago with a fractured finger in his left hand.

Beginning on Friday, fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at and on all 30 club sites -- online or via mobile devices -- using the 2012 All-Star Game Ballot until June 28 at 11:59 p.m. ET.