Choo feels triple warranted after homer overturned

Choo feels triple warranted after homer overturned

ST. PETERSBURG -- Shin-Soo Choo understands that instant replay proved he did not deserve to be credited with a leadoff home run in Monday's 3-2 win over the Rays, but the Indians' right fielder feels a triple was warranted.

After reviewing Choo's first-inning blast, which bounced off the top of the wall in right-center field before shooting back into play at Tropicana Field, the umpiring crew overturned the initial call and sent the right fielder to second base with a double.

Asked on Tuesday if he felt he should have been sent to third base, Choo nodded. Indians manager Manny Acta said, however, that the issue is not that simple.

"We always talk about that," Acta said, "but as a general rule, they just give the guy two bases. You just can't assume that the guy is going to make it to third. They don't want to open some kind of can of worms."

On the play in question, Choo had sprinted beyond first base when second-base umpire Dan Iassogna called the hit a home run. The baseball had already bounced back into center field, though, and it seems likely that Choo would have been able to reach third base on the play.

Despite those circumstances, Acta said ruling the hit a double was "pretty standard" under the current usage of replay. Asked if he thought Choo could have reached third base, the Indians manager smirked.

"I'm his manager, so of course," Acta said. "I thought he was going to have an inside-the-park home run."