CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Indians lose challenge on close play at second

Francona challenges out call, which stands after replay review

Indians lose challenge on close play at second play video for Indians lose challenge on close play at second

CHICAGO -- Indians manager Terry Francona lost a replay challenge in the sixth inning of Monday's 6-2 loss to the White Sox.

With one out and Michael Brantley on second, Ryan Raburn smoked a base hit to right that scored Brantley, cutting Chicago's lead to 3-2. Raburn headed for second as right fielder Moises Sierra slid to stop the ball and fired to second, and Raburn was called out on the bang-bang play.

That brought Francona immediately out of the dugout. After a two-minute and three-second review, the call stood, meaning umpires didn't have enough evidence to overturn the call. That made it two outs with nobody on, instead of the Tribe having a runner in scoring position with one out.

"Again, when I'm out there, I only can I see in real time," Francona said. "But I'm still surprised they didn't overturn it. Looked like he was safe. I'm surprised."

"Yeah, he didn't touch me up top, and I still think I got my hand in," Raburn said. "Basically, my leg slid into him, but it's probably one of those calls where they weren't sure, and tough to overturn."

Joe Popely is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }