Now Commenting On:

Callaway ejected after arguing check swing call

Callaway ejected after arguing check swing call play video for Callaway ejected after arguing check swing call

KANSAS CITY -- Indians pitching coach Mickey Callaway was ejected in the bottom of the first inning Saturday for arguing a disputed check swing.

With the bases loaded and two outs, Raul Ibanez nearly offered at a Trevor Bauer slider in the dirt with two strikes. Home-plate umpire James Hoye asked for help from third-base ump Bill Welke on the appeal, but Welke deemed that Ibanez did not go around.

Welke tossed Callaway for arguing from the dugout. It was Callaway's first career ejection.

Bauer struck out Ibanez four pitches later to end the inning.

Jackson Alexander is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español